Mr Smitten

So…  There I am on a Saturday night with my buddy having a few drinks and a boogie when I spy a rather charming looking man by the bar. Over I saunter and we get chatting, a few drinks later we exchange numbers, a few more drinks later…. Well, I had a drunken memory block on the rest of the night, but I know I went home alone.

 

UNTIL – I drunkenly called him.

 

And he came to my house.

 

And for the first time ever I made sure I was very happy and then sent him on his merry way, literally that is what happened. Think Carrie in the 1st episode of Sex and the City. I was all “It’s 7.30am and I need my sleep so can you leave please?”

And he left. Cue a few texts later and it seemed he was dying to take me to dinner. So, I thought why not… He seemed nice enough.

A few points about him already –

1) he was lovely. Very complimentary about me, and very very keen to see me. 
2) he was planning on taking me for cocktails and dinner, and was collecting me in a taxi. No bloke (with the exception of Mr Lush on our “date of a lifetime”) has done this before.
3) something in his texts set him apart from the others, it was like here was a man, while the others were boys.

So, sure enough, he collected me from my house and all was grand. Where I live is a small city, there are around 4 decent 1st date places and believe me I have been to them all – many times! He took me to the one place no date had taken me before. My ex took me once for dinner as a birthday treat a few years back which was amazing. But we were there for cocktails. 

Chat flowed nicely, I felt comfortable in his presence. He had manners and was funny, it was nice. The cocktails flowed too easily and I felt drunk quickly. He was also good looking (I have a thing about gingers)

We walked to a lovely little Italian (again, a place I’d never been before) and had food, and again all was grand. We had a smooch or two and then headed to the bar where we met for more cocktails. And yes, I was very drunk. He was unbelievable complimentary, he was very simitten with me.

We headed home, and like a true gent he dropped me home and walked me to my door after more kissing.

I was inundated with texts about how much he liked me. It was disarmingly nice. But you know what… I am just not feeling it. I am kind of pre-menstrual at the moment, which maybe adding to my lacklustre thoughts, so I am going to see him again. But there is something not “there”. And I know that instinct plays a massive part in my picking process.

He has invited me to attend Sunday lunch with his mum and him this weekend – I don’t think i’ll go… BUT

He text me last night asking if I would be okay with packing an overnight bag as he’d like to take me away. He is picking me up at 5.30pm this afternoon. I’m excited, as this is a total first for a second date. He is so keen, and this maybe offputting? Surely there is a fine line?

 

I’ll keep you posted by twitter! Haha – wish me luck xx

Leave a comment